Skip to the content


American Kestrel
American Kestrel

The Texas Ornithological Society Board of Directors is responsible for the governance and oversight of TOS, setting policy, and managing organization activities using volunteers and paid staff.


Position Name
President Romey Swanson
Vice President Pamela Pipes
Secretary Lynn Thompson
Treasurer Lorrie Mathers
Past President Byron Stone
Director At-Large 1 Ron Huebner
Director At-Large 2 Lynn Thompson
Director At-Large 3 Clay Taylor
Director At-Large 4 Romey Swanson
Director Region 1: Panhandle Kelly Smith
Director Region 2: North Central Lorrie Mathers
Director Region 3: Piney Woods Laura Wilson
Director Region 4: Trans-Pecos Pamela Pipes
Director Region 5: Edwards Plateau Christine Turnbull
Director Region 6: Central Prairie Randy Pinkston
Director Region 7: Brushlands Samantha Wolfe
Director Region 8: Coastal Prairie Kendra Kocab
Nominating Committee Byron Stone
Weekender Committee Janey Woodley
High Island Sanctuary Committee Shelia Hargis
Magic Ridge Sanctuary Committee Byron Stone
Sabine Woods Sanctuary Committee John Berner
Meeting Committee Christine Turnbull
Publications Committee Susan Foster
Texas Bird Records Committee Tony Frank
Awards Committee Jack Eitniear
Membership Secretary Judy Kestner
Online Registration Judy Kestner
Publication Editor Jack Eitniear
Web Administrator Judy Kestner
Web Administrator Shelia Hargis
Travel Committee Laura Wilson

Texas Ornithological Society

Contact Us

Texas Ornithological Society

Welcome to the Amazing World of Texas Birds!

If you love birds, Texas is definitely the place for you! With eight different geographical regions to explore, each offering its own, unique wildlife environment; more than 660 species to be discovered; and a location adjacent to the tropical regions of Mexico and Central America, you never know what you might see when you grab your binoculars and head out!

Texas Ornithological Society is proud to promote the discovery, knowledge, observation and conservation of birds in Texas since 1953.