Skip to the content

Texas Regions

Texas is an amazing place filled with habitat and geographical diversity. Ranging from desert to hills to forests to prairies to seashores, just about every habitat you can imagine can be found in Texas. And this diversity of habitat means an incredible opportunity to discover an astounding variety of avian life throughout the state. Discover tropical species in the Rio Grande Valley such as the Altimira Oriole and Green Jay; woodland species in the Piney Woods such as the Red-cockaded Woodpecker and Brown-headed Nuthatch; species of the prairies such as Henslow's Sparrows and Attwater's Greater Prairie-Chickens; and coastal species, such as Whooping Cranes and Reddish Egrets. More than 660 species of birds have been seen in Texas! Just imagine what you might discover when you grab your binoculars and get out into nature!

To learn more about the regions of Texas, click on the map or the region header below.

REGION 1 – Panhandle
Counties: Andrews, Armstrong, Bailey, Borden, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Cochran, Collingsworth, Cottle, Crosby, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Donley, Fisher, Floyd, Gaines, Garza, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hockley, Howard, Hutchinson, Jones, Kent, King, Lamb, Lipscomb, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Mitchell, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Scurry, Sherman, Stonewall, Swisher, Taylor, Terry, Wheeler, Yoakum


REGION 2 – North Central
Counties: Archer, Baylor, Callahan, Clay, Collin, Cooke, Dallas, Denton, Eastland, Ellis, Erath, Fannin, Foard, Grayson, Hardeman, Haskell, Hood, Hunt, Jack, Johnson, Kaufman, Knox, Montague, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Shackelford, Somervell, Stephens, Tarrant, Throckmorton, Wichita, Wilbarger, Wise, Young


REGION 3 – Piney Woods
Counties: Anderson, Angelina, Bowie, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Delta, Franklin, Gregg, Hardin, Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins, Houston, Jasper, Lamar, Liberty, Marion, Montgomery, Morris, Nacogdoches, Newton, Orange, Panola, Polk, Rains, Red River, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Smith, Titus, Trinity, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Walker, Wood


REGION 4 – Trans-Pecos
Counties: Brewster, Jeff Davis, Crane, Culberson, Ector, El Paso, Hudspeth, Midland, Pecos, Presidio, Reeves, Loving, Terrell, Upton, Ward, Winkler


REGION 5 – Edwards Plateau
Counties: Bandera, Bexar, Blanco, Burnet, Coke, Comal, Concho, Crockett, Edwards, Gillespie, Glasscock, Hays, Irion, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Kinney, Llano, Mason, McCulloch, Medina, Menard, Reagan, Real, Runnels, San Saba, Schleicher, Sterling, Sutton, Tom Green, Travis, Uvalde, Val Verde


REGION 6 – Central Prairie
Counties: Bastrop, Bell, Bosque, Brazos, Brown, Burleson, Caldwell, Coleman, Comanche, Coryell, Dewitt, Falls, Fayette, Freestone, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hamilton, Hill, Karnes, Lampasas, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Limestone, Madison, McLennan, Milam, Mills, Navarro, Robertson, Washington, Williamson, Wilson


REGION 7 - Brushlands
Counties: Aransas, Atascosa, Bee, Brooks, Cameron, Dimmit, Duval, Frio, Goliad, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, Lasalle, Live Oak, Maverick, McMullen, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Starr, Webb, Willacy, Zapata, Zavala


REGION 8 – Coastal Prairie
Counties: Austin, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Jackson, Jefferson, Matagorda, Victoria, Waller, Wharton

Texas Ornithological Society

Contact Us

Texas Ornithological Society

Welcome to the Amazing World of Texas Birds!

If you love birds, Texas is definitely the place for you! With eight different geographical regions to explore, each offering its own, unique wildlife environment; more than 660 species to be discovered; and a location adjacent to the tropical regions of Mexico and Central America, you never know what you might see when you grab your binoculars and head out!

Texas Ornithological Society is proud to promote the discovery, knowledge, observation and conservation of birds in Texas since 1953.